Posted in TV Show Review

Riverdale First Episode Review

riverdale

A subversive take on Archie and his friends, exploring small town life, the darkness and weirdness bubbling beneath Riverdale’s wholesome facade.

–  IMDb Riverdale Page

Literally just saw the first episode of Riverdale.

Okay, I am an absolute sucker for any story that has a writer/storyteller in its midst. As anyone who has seen at least one episode knows, the story is actually narrated by a character like this. Thus, I like it.

Characters wise, it is a bit you know, typical but it is only the first episode. I need more time with them so their characters profiles can extend and make them unique as all person is. Better would be a little hard to swallow if she weren’t so actually damn good, a little too good but same so. Not always good as we know. As for Veronica, she is per usual, my favorite type of female character. It is what I would like to be but alas am not, and that is okay. Cheryl, ah, I always admire that kind of sadistic, slightly psycopathic, and possibly murderous character. Lovely. Archie?  A little boring, but it’s cool because he’s bringing the drama so that’s good enough. It’s such a tedious thing that his character is always the “leader” not only because as I said, he’s boring but I just really wouldn’t be content be leaded by someone like that. As for Jughead, well I don’t know much but I will most likely adore him. Just wait. (writing while watching second episode and yes, I like him)

It has good one-liners and Josie and the Pussycats (what up with that?), it has enough mysteries and drama to get one hooked right off the bat, clearly good writing and one again Tumblr has tripped me over and made me fall into a dark, dry pit of self-hatred and overly-affection towards fictional characters. Ha-zah!

Incidentally, will not be reviewing every episode, but will review the season so wait up on that.

– Vanessa

Author:

19. Hispanic. Hi.

Leave a Reply

